Cape Horn (+ writing)

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE read this wonderful and inspiring post from PNW blogger Jenny Bruso. Jenny writes detailed and interesting posts about local hiking trails, but she is also a fabulous writer and in this post she outlines some of her struggles with depression, and the enlightenment that comes from being submersed in the landscape of the magical Pacific Northwest.

Jenny Bruso

“I look around and try to notice everything I possibly can, something I do when I need to get out of my head. Drenched neon mosses and licorice ferns growing off every alder trunk. The remaining leaves, a yellow deserving of new definition. The fog swirls thicker. Gratitude for green. All year, the seasons haven’t known whether to shit or get off the pot, but it is distinctly becoming winter, which isn’t so stark in Northwest Oregon, but actually kind of luscious, lively, magical. I’ve been going through my days like I’ve lost my magic and I hope to get some back today. I listen to the trees, the hollow roar of the Columbia River Gorge and the distant noises of highway fourteen. The sounds fill me up and I imagine them pushing out my pain.”

View original post 2,695 more words

6 thoughts on “Cape Horn (+ writing)

Talk To Me!

